Cyril Davies... British Blues Harp Pioneer

The Recordings of Cyril Davies.

  • The earliest released recording was supplied by Brian Knight for the CD Knights of the Blues Table, KC Moan (Viceroy 54189-2). Cyril was recorded privately playing and singing this at his home in 1954.
  • Cyril was recorded playing banjo with Steve Lane's Southern Stompers in Aug 1955 - Vortex VX1001, Heah Me Talkin' and Tennessee Twilight.
  • Most of what follows is taken from Mark Troster's discography in Harry Shapiro's biography of Alexis Korner.
  • Beryl Bryden's Backroom Skiffle Group - 9 Nov 1956 (Decca, London). Beryl Bryden (wb,vo), Dave Stevens (p), Alexis Korner (g), Cyril Davies (hca,g): Frank Clark (b), Kansas City Blues, Casey Jones, This Train, Rock Me.
  • Alexis Korner's Breakdown Group featuring Cyril Davies - 13 Feb 1957 (Roundhouse, London). Alexis Korner (g,md,vo), Cyril Davies (g,hca,vo), Terry Plant (b), Mike Collins (wb): Leaving Blues, Rotten Break, Alberta, Roundhouse Stomp, Skip to My Lou, Good Morning, Bol Weevil, Ella Speed, Streamline Train. (Blues from the Roundhouse - 77 LP/2 - released Nov 1957)
  • Alexis Korner Skiffle group - 29 March 1957 (Burnham, Bucks, UK). Alexis Korner (g,vo), Cyril Davis (hac,g,vo), Dave Stevens (p), Mike Collins (wb), Chris Capon (b): Kid Man, County Jail, Easy Rider.(Krazy Kat KK 789 - released Nov 1984)
  • Alexis Korner Skiffle group - 22 July 1958 (Decca, London). Alexis Korner (g,vo), Cyril Davies (g,hca), Dave Stevens (piano), Chris Capon (s b), Mike Collins (wb): County Jail, I Ain't Gonna Worry No More, Easy Rider, Kid Man. (Tempo EXA 76)
  • Alexis Korner's Blues Incorporated - 29 April 1958 (Decca, London). Alexis Korner (g,vo), Cyril Davies (hca, g,vo), Dave Stevens (p), Mike Collins (wb), Jim Bray (b): Sail On, National Defence Blues, Go Down Sunshine, Death Letter. (Tempo EXA 102) released Dec 1958
  • Roundhouse Jug Four - 3 Aug 1961 (Kenton, London). Cyril Davies (hca,g,vo), Jeff Bradford (g,md,kaz), Reg Turner (jug), Lise Turner (bj,vo): KC Moan, Hesitation Blues, It's the Same Thing, Short Leg Shuffle.
  • Alexis Korner's Blues Incorporated - 17 Jan 1962 (Olympic Studios, London, UK). Alexis Korner (g, voc), Cyril Davies (harmonica), Keith Scott (p), Graham Beazley (sb), Colin Bowden (drums): She fooled me.
  • Alexis Korner's Blues Incorporated - 8 June 1962 (Decca, London, UK). Alexis Korner (g), Cyril Davies (hca), Long John Baldry (voc), Dick Heckstall-Smith (ts), Keith Scott (p), Spike Heatley (sb), Teddy Wadmore (b), Graham Burbridge (d), Big Jim Sullivan (voc chr): Gotta Move (Korner), Rain Is Such A Lonesome Sound, I Got My Brand On You, Spooky But Nice, Keep Your Hands Off, I Wanna Put A Tiger In Your Tank, I Got My Mojo Working, Finkle's Cave, Hoochie Coochie, Down Town, How Long, How Long Blues, I Thought I Heard That Train Whistle Blow, She fooled me, Hoochie Coochie, I'm Built for Speed.
  • Alexis Korner's Blues Incorporated - 12 July 1962 (BBC Jazz Club, Paris Theatre, London, UK). Alexis Korner (g), Cyril Davies (voc, hca), Dick Heckstall-Smith (ts), Keith Scott (p), Jack Bruce (sb), Charlie Watts (d): Hoochie Coochie Man..
  • Nancy Spain with Alexis Korner's Blues Incorporated - Oct 1962 (Unknown Studios, London, UK). Nancy Spain (voc), Alexis Korner (g), Cyril Davies (hca), Dick Heckstall-Smith (ts), Jack Bruce (sb), Ginger Baker (drums) : Blaydon Races, Up Town.
  • tbc

The LPs and EPs of Cyril Davies.

Here are the covers and sleeve notes from Cyril's recordings.
Thanks to Mark Troster, Jim Shepherd and Damian Korner for images of the very rare recordings.

Knights of the Blues Table
Viceroy/Lightyear 54189-2

A Celebration of Cyril Davies and the early UK Blues Scene recorded in 1997.
Click here to see the CD tracks, sleeve notes and some reviews of the recordings.

Blues from the Roundhouse
GVC 1006

A new CD collection of folk, skiffle and country blues recordings, Blues from the Roundhouse, by Alexis Korner and Cyril Davis, was released by RSK in May 2009. It covers the period up to 1958 when Cyril was moving from playing his 12 String guitar to beginning to play harmonica. You can buy the CD here. We are still working to get the rest of Cyril's recordings released.

About two years ago, Sanctuary were planning to release a double CD of virtually all of Cyril's recordings, Preaching the Blues, a Tribute Album, but it was cancelled when they were taken over by Universal. Details were pre-released and you can still find it on some web sites. None were ever sold.

Web site navigation
Introduction: Cyril Who?
Cyril's Denham Home
Cyril and Leadbelly
With Alexis at The Roundhouse
Alexis Korner's Blues Incorporated
Cyril Davies' R&B All Stars
Cyril's Recordings
The background to the developing London blues scene
UK Blues links
Back To Home Page

This page and all its contents, ©2012, all rights reserved.

Webmaster: Roger Trobridge